“We must stand still so our daughters can look back and see how far they’ve come.

I saw the Barbie movie with my daughter and This was the line that made me cry.

I’m finding that people either love or hate this movie. There seems to be no in-between.

I went with my daughter and my sister in law and we laughed and we cried and we loved Helen Mirren and Weird Barbie and we wore pink. We adored Ann Roth, and left telling every other woman in the theater that they are beautiful.

But we don’t stand still so our daughters can see how far they’ve come. We climb as far as we can on the shoulders of the women who came before us and we bring our daughters with us, and then we boost them forward as far as we can. Only then we do move everything forward.

I wonder if part of my reaction to the movie was a reaction to an article I read yesterday about how women have been written out of history by the record keepers.

It reminded me of the Prologue to Women of Futures Past by Kristine Kathryn Rausch, the former editor of The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, who realized that when it came to the history of science fiction the great women writers were being lost since they weren’t being included in the modern anthologies. Not to mention that she was left out of the listing of editors for F&SF in Locus magazine despite having edited for years. And by leaving women out of the historical record, women today think there is a barrier to overcome that never existed.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment