Wednesday WIP – Quality floss issues

So here is where I am after two days of stitching and all I can say is “When did DMC floss become such garbage?”

When the 1996 color change happened I dumped most of my DMC floss and switched to Anchor or when I could afford it I used silk.  This means that most of my WIPs are Anchor or silk.  However, I was feeling lazy and didn’t feel like doing the conversion for a single band of a Teresa Wentzler border so I pulled out some of the new DMC I’ve been picking up on sale and went out and bought 3 skeins for colors I didn’t have.

So in just 4 hours of stitching this stuff has tangled, untwisted, separated and just been plain nasty to work with.  All I can think is has the quality slipped or was it always this nasty?  If this is the norm for DMC then I’ll be staying with Anchor and anyone interested in buying a full set of DMC floss from me can leave a message.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Cymberleah

     /  January 15, 2015

    I haven’t picked up DMC recently because I bought up what I thought I’d need (thinking lifetime supply) when they went into bankruptcy, in part to hedge against them folding, but with the thought that quality was probably going to take a nosedive even if they stayed in business.

    Reply
  2. I still have a lot of my older DMC (especially thanks to my 5 year stitching hiatus), and I’ve noticed the lack of quality in the newer floss, too. I’ve read/heard that a sizable portion of their manufacturing has moved to China.

    Interestingly, I ordered a 500g cone of 310, and it seems better quality than the regular floss skeins from Michaels/JoAnn, so I wonder if the larger bunches are made the “old’ way (or whatever). I’m tempted to get some of the 100g cones of colors I use a lot of, and the quality difference with the 500g cone is pushing me to try it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

