It’s Wednesday!! Here is the WIP for this week.

Back in 1996 I really liked the work of a designer whose work was published by Just Cross Stitch. I started buying everything that I could of Teresa Wentzler and another Just Cross Stitch designer, Cathy Livingston. My Sister in Law saw my collection of patterns and asked me to stitch the Fruit Bellpull for her. She bought all the supplies exactly the way they were listed in the pattern. I started working on it and then got sidetracked.  I had been making hand stitched ornaments for her and one Christmas when I went to deliver it and the presents for my niece and nephew, she couldn’t be bothered to come receive her present. So I stopped stitching for her.

Fast forward and I haven’t seen or spoken to her in over a decade and I have a nephew I’ve seen once from a distance at a funeral. I don’t know his name – I think it’s Bjorn. Anyway, with that history I had no reason to work on the Fruit Bell Pull. However, two summers ago I repainted my TV room and it’s about the same color as the bone Brittney on the bellpull so I now have a place on my wall that I could hang it so it’s time to work on it again. This is what it looked like at the end of 2013.
FBP

And this is what it looks like tonight.

20140122_224919

So I have a bit of back-stitching and the border and I’ll be ready to work on the next block. Back in 1996, I planned on changing the order of the blocks and doing it peaches/grapes/apples/plums/pears/cherries instead of the original pattern pictured below.
20140122_224043

In the intervening years, I’ve begun to understand the importance of weighting a design at the bottom with darker colors.  If I stitched this the way it was originally designed, it would be the first piece in years that I’ve done exactly as charted, with the supplies as recommended.  I’m not sure I can handle that.  Maybe I should add some beads? Or I could swap the pears and plums as I originally planned.  I’m just not sure how I want to do it…

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Family. Love em, hate em 🙂
    It’s a gorgeous design and I’m glad you gave it another chance to shine!

    Reply
  2. It’s a lovely design and I’m glad you are getting back to it. As I didn’t speak to my dad for 13 years and haven’t spoken to my mum in a year, I know what it is like to fall out with family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

