Guilt Free January

Several years ago when social networking was done on bulletin boards like Yuku, the idea of Guilt Free January started.  You could start as many pieces you wanted to during January with no consequences.  I participated in 2003 and still have many of the projects I started.  For the last several years, I’ve been concentrating on finishing WIPs and trying to get my list of unfinished projects below 63 (most of those are Finished Unfinished projects).

This year however, I’m thinking seriously of new starts.  I’ve got several things kitted up and it would be so easy to start something new. I’ve got Sleepy Hollow from Glendon Place and La-De-Da’s The Raven both Halloween pieces.  I have my three Carousels – Patricia Allison’s Dragon Carousel, Teresa Wentzler’s The Carousel, and Fire Wing Designs The Wild Hunt and I have my Mirabilia Queens – I have Autumn as a WIP and Summer, Spring and Winter are kitted up.  And that doesn’t count all the smalls I could do and there are 2 kits DH bought me to stitch for him…

But then I think of my completion list from last year and the number of completed new starts compared to the older WIPs.  If I haven’t changed my mind about new starts at that point, I look at my WIPs and find something close to the one that I’m thinking of starting.  So far it’s worked.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. It is still fun to start one project for the new year. I try to do that each year and start something special in January and that is all. But it’s great that you can stay strong and not start anything new. I wish I could.

    Reply
    • Actually tomorrow I will try for the first autograph for my Star Trek signature quilt which is my big project for this year.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

