Very Productive Weekend (without pictures to prove it)…

For those that don’t know, I’m a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and the first weekend of October (and again in April) the church leaders speak to the general membership of the church in a series of five meetings known as general conference.

When I was growing up, I would ride my bike to my grandmother’s house and I would watch conference with her.  In the morning we would listen while cleaning the house and in the afternoon, we would work on crafts.  She taught me to cross-stitch, quilt, crochet, macrame, and attempted and gave up on teaching me knitting during Saturday afternoon conference sessions.  So along with listening to the messages from the prophet and apostles, I work on craft projects during conference weekend.

I should add that one of the meetings – Saturday night is for the men only.  It’s not like it’s secret, the talks are available for download but businesses around Salt Lake City cater to women that night.  I went with my mom and my sister to Gardner Village’s Witches Night Out.

But back to being productive – I finished Joined at the Hip Hanging on a Star Boo!

This is the model from the designer’s website http://www.joinedatthehip.com

I forgot to take a picture before I dropped it off at the long arm quilter’s for finishing.

I also finished my Sego Lily EGA Jacob’s Ladder project – I’ll get a picture posted soon.

After finishing those, I went back to work on C’s quilt.  He leaves on his LDS mission to the Philippines, Iloilo on Halloween.  I thought I had it finished and then I realized that he can’t wrap it around himself and it won’t cover his toes when up around his neck.  So I made a Columbus Day fabric run.

Yes, now that I work for a bank I get Columbus day as a holiday.  So today was also part of the weekend.   Since I was home from work and found a new long arm quilter last week, I made arrangements to drop off the Boo! quilt I finished Saturday, my Fairy Batik mystery quilt top, and the Lavender Waves quilt I made for L years and years ago.  The best part – having all three tops done including buying the batting from her will be less than $100.

Then this evening – I cut the strips for doing the piping for the pillow I’m making out of a stitched piece which was too big to turn into an ornament.  Dropped a line to follow up on a lead for Needlepoint finishing and put in 30 minutes stitching on Town of Halloween.

My Project list is down to 60 items and could be under that by the end of this month.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

