And the State Fair Results are in…

First, I’m sorry about the pictures, I took them with my phone.  Second, for those who saw the posts on Facebook, well this is a repeat.

Just so you know, here are the results.

My first blue ribbon for Cross-stitch at the State Fair

That’s right, despite all the Blue ribbons I’ve had in Needlepoint, I’ve never had a blue ribbon in Cross-stitch pictures.  I’ve had them for ornaments but never for a picture so I’m quite happy to have this be the first.  It’s Teresa Wentzler’s Winter Carousel Horse.

Fairy Tale Sampler by Dragon Dreams – okay, so it’s fuzzy, I took the picture on my phone.  What makes me really happy about this one is that it’s on 28 ct fabric which is the largest category in the fair.  Yes, that’s my competitive streak showing.

Remember I was worried about even dropping this one off because there was a bubble in the framing? I was positive that it would be a waste of time and I would just end up being embarrassed.  So the ribbon was an unexpected pleasure.  It’s an original design based on the Plum Pudding NeedleArts Witch’s Pantry ornament in the Sept/Oct 2012 JCS issue.

And that’s how I did…

I did find a needlepoint piece that I want to stitch though.

Does anyone recognize the pattern?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Ooh congrats on your blue ribbon! I love the design!

    Reply
  2. Congratulations to you, that’s wonderful! And let us know if you find out the name/design of that needlepoint. It is beautiful.

    Reply
  3. Congratulations on coming in 1st!! I would love to go and check out a competition like that if there was one near me but I’m afraid I’d come back wanting to do more projects than I’ll ever have time for. Lol

    Reply
    • I understand, I found a needlepoint piece there which I want to do if I can figure out what pattern it is.

      Sent from my iPhone

      Reply
      • Good luck finding the pattern!! I’d love to watch your updates as you progress through it and see it come together. 🙂

  4. I found out that the pattern is Spirit of the Southwest by one of my favorite artists – Susan Portra.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

