Sorry to lose a designer but, now I can post this again.

Several years ago, I stitched Morning Song for a wedding present for my sister T.  However, I customized some of the colors.  See my sister married a ginger haired man and was looking forward to having red-headed kids.  So I made the children red heads.  Well, that meant that I had to change the color of the dress because it’s just silly to put a ginger in pink.

Once I had done that, I wanted to make the mother look more like my sister so I swapped the blonde from the mother’s hair with the browns in the trees behind her so I have a brunette with ginger kids in front of an aspen grove.

Image

I was rather happy with the result because I was still new to pattern modification.  I posted the picture on my website when the gallery still worked.  I named the picture and the designer and listed what changes I had made to the original pattern.  After all, that’s what we’re supposed to do to honor the copyright, correct?   Well I got an email asking me to cease and desist showing the picture or legal action would follow.  I sent an email back asking why, what was I doing wrong since I had done everything I knew to protect the designer’s rights.  I was told since I hadn’t followed the design exactly the copyright holder was offended and wanted it removed.  I was broke in those days and didn’t have money for a legal fight so I removed it.

Since the recent death of the designer in question, I’ve heard examples of the copyright agent for the estate giving permission for posting images which were previously denied.  So I feel safe publishing my finished work of the Lavender and Lace Morning Song pattern again.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Dette Heaps

     /  August 27, 2012

    good for you- as a designer i am always flattered by the changes people make to personalize something. I design a thing – you interpret it – go fly!!

    Reply
  2. shebafudge

     /  August 27, 2012

    My word! That’s the first time I have heard of a designer being upset about stitcher’s changing something in their design. I think your work is beautiful and deserves to be shown in all its glory.

    Reply
  3. Ridiculous. I’d like to see them enforce that.

    Reply
  4. My goodness, what a strong reaction she had! 😦 I’m glad that you are again able to share your work because you did a beautiful conversion!

    Reply
  5. Sewunicorn

     /  August 27, 2012

    Your work is gorgeous. I never would have known that it wasn’t originally charted this way.

    Reply
    • I think that was the issue the designer had – I presume she was afraid someone would mistake what I did for her work. Either that or she was afraid I would try to sell my coloration. Since I don’t keep notes after the project is done, it would be hard to do that and besides I know selling a derivative without permission isn’t legal.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

